Home > ICND2 – Syslog Questions

ICND2 – Syslog Questions

October 5th, 2017 in ICND2 200-105 Go to comments

Question 1

If you configure syslog messages without specifying the logging trap level, which log messages will the router send?

A. error conditions only
B. warning and error conditions only
C. normal but significant conditions only
D. all levels except debugging
E. informational messages only


Answer: D


Syslog levels are listed below

Level Keyword Description
0 emergencies System is unusable
1 alerts Immediate action is needed
2 critical Critical conditions exist
3 errors Error conditions exist
4 warnings Warning conditions exist
5 notification Normal, but significant, conditions exist
6 informational Informational messages
7 debugging Debugging messages

The highest level is level 0 (emergencies). The lowest level is level 7. By default, the router will send informational messages (level 6). That means it will send all the syslog messages from level 0 to 6.

Comments (5) Comments
  1. zahir
    August 11th, 2017


  2. Rito
    November 11th, 2017

    Every Awesome Cisco Engineer Will Need Icecream Daily

  3. Jazz
    November 21st, 2017

    Default level is 7 and not 6. The question doesn’t have the right answer.

    November 30th, 2017

    I just had a look at Cisco website, and it seems that 2960 devices still have level 6 as the default for trap messages, and level 7 for console, monitor and logging to a file on the flash.

    December 1st, 2017

    Router(config)# logging trap level

    Specifies the kind of messages, by severity level, to be sent to the syslog server. The default is informational and lower. The possible values for level are as follows:

    Emergency: 0
    Alert: 1
    Critical: 2
    Error: 3
    Warning: 4
    Notice: 5
    Informational: 6
    Debug: 7